Room Access Control

The Room Access Control feature allows you to control the visibility of rooms based on a user's Department membership.

When viewing the Bookings page, Teacher-level users will only be able to see and create bookings in rooms that they are granted access to via this page.

For now, you can set a room to be visible to any logged-in user, or to one or more Departments.

Whenever you add a new room, an access control entry will be created automatically which allows Any logged-in user to view it, which is the standard classroombookings behaviour.

When restricting access to one or more departments, you will also need to remove the Any logged-in user entry, to ensure that only those users in the selected departments can see the room.

If you have a lot of rooms or departments, you can use the Filter section to show just the entries you want to view.

In the future, you will also be able to choose from individual Users and Groups, and later, grant more permissions than just 'View'.

Add an entry

Click the Add entry link to show the form:

Select a room, and who you want to be able to access it.

If you want to grant access to more than one department, you will need to add one at a time.

Remove an entry

Click the red X button next to the entry you want to remove.

In the future, you will be able to choose from individual Users and Groups as well, and later, grant more permissions than just 'View'.